In Which I Introduce Myself.

Hello, or as I am more likely to say were we to meet on the street, Howdy.

A good friend once told me that when beginning a series of written articles it is prudent to introduce oneself. Since I plan to keep this updated I feel, and because I am new to this concept, I will follow his advice.

My name is Jack, and I am a gamer.

In these times that word, gamer, usually means a person who is addicted to the Xbox. I come from older stock, when I say ‘gamer’ I mean all forms that could imply. I enjoy board games, RPGs, puzzles, and I am addicted to the Xbox. I enjoy a challenge and the ability to divert my mind to more fun tasks then are usually offered to me. RPGs, for the uninitiated, are Role Playing Games. If you know a dork who sits around and plays “Dungeons & Dragons”, that’s what it is, except I don’t play D&D.

I am also a fan of film. I enjoy watching movies, and learning about the process behind them. I like perusing scripts, hearing about production, details about casting, and watching the final product. I’m the kind of man who can go to a theater alone and enjoy a movie. Some of my friends cannot imagine such a thing but I find it invigorating.

Least you think I am simply a slave to modern technology I would also state my love of literature. I learned to read at a very young age and have made books a constant companion in my life. I will read classics, current trends, and pretty much any random thing that cathes my attention. I learned early in life that a book may not be judged by its cover, but a pretty one helps pull you in.

This is a very limited view of me, but I feel it is enough to lead into my mission statement. I will attempt to update this blog twice a week. The first post, which I will attempt to make on Wednesdays or Thursdays, will be a review of whatever movie, book, or game I have just finished. Expect more movies as they are quicker to get through.

The second update, at the insistence of my good friend, will be on Fridays or Saturdays and will cover my most recent gaming sessions.

That is my plan. We shall see how long it lasts.

4 thoughts on “In Which I Introduce Myself.

  1. Nice startup Jack, but it took you too long to tell me about this! If you’d like I can go over a more thorough grammar / content / pacing / everything critique, but this is a good, humble writeup for yourself. Looking forward to future posts!

  2. Finally your brilliance is captured. I would also describe you as a man wearing pants.

    I’m looking forward to your weeklies.

    P.S. Don’t deny the years I forced you to play D&D.

Leave a Reply

