A Discussion on “The Book of Eli”

Based upon both my expectations and the urging of my Sociology teacher I saw “The Book of Eli” on Tuesday.

I will attempt to remain spoiler free, as I feel I can do a small review of the movie without spoiling major plot points.

My excitement with this movie began when I saw the first trailer and thought “My word, finally a Fallout Movie!”, of course I was wrong, but I will say that this is probably as close to a Fallout movie as we should get. The problem is, even after learning it wasn’t as I thought, I was still very interested. My interest contenued to grow; this is a condition that I try to refrain from. Typically when I become excited about a movie, said movie fails to live up to what my mind has planned.

Mentioning this outside the theater to my companions I finally became fed up and announced, “I am not sad that I’m excited, is it too much to ask that a movie not be crap?”

The movie lived up to my expectations. It was what it advertised. A lone wanderer with a powerful secret travels in a post apocalyptic world. He meets a bad crowd and beautiful things happen. Along with this were good performances from the cast, all of whom acted admirably.

I really don’t have much more to say, anything else could ruin the movie. I am not trying to say that it’s amazingly deep or that there is some profound surprise, only that when watching a movie about the end of humanity the viewer tends to bring his own baggage, and I do not wish mine to be mixed with yours.

The only real problem I had with the movie is brought about due to my amateur archer status. As glad as I am that he used a bow, it was painfully obvious that no one on the set knew how, or that the bow was anything more than a prop.

Go see this movie.

One thought on “A Discussion on “The Book of Eli”

  1. I will. I’ve been looking forward to seeing it. Another good post-apocalyptic flick: “The Road”. Slow at times, drudging on in a depressed grey, but that adds to the mood, which is all too serious. Overall pretty good. It deals with death and faith, strong father/son themes, but that’s my baggage. It’s definitely about more than what’s on the screen. And Viggo Mortensen’s performance was quite, well, Viggo.

Leave a Reply

